COntainer services Optimised thanKs to artificial IntelligEnce

COOKIE

 

Artificial intelligence is no longer science fiction in 2021, but has been reality for a while now. From autopilots to AI that accurately simulates a user in order to conduct targeted marketing, there are a wide variety of applications that successfully make use of this technology and deliver added value.

By using AI, the COOKIE project aims to evaluate different applications. On the one hand, image-based damage detection on empty containers is intended to facilitate inspection. Presently, the inspection of empty containers is carried out by a manual process using visual inspection and tapping of the containers to detect defects, e.g. on the container walls. Furthermore, the project is developing an AI-based concept to digitize and optimize tank container washing systems, which are currently mostly manually controlled and require large amounts of water and chemical additives to clean stubborn contaminants in the tanks. The use of AI is expected to significantly facilitate both of these operations.

COOKIE is funded by the IHATEC (Innovative Port Technologies) research program of the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure and started in November 2019. The expected end of the project is April 2022.

In a nutshell

In the COOKIE project, the use of AI is to be used to optimize damage detection during empty container inspections and the cleaning process of tank container washing systems

Goal of the project

In the COOKIE project, the CML is working with project partners to develop software for image-based damage detection in empty container inspection based on artificial intelligence. This will not only comply with current safety standards, but also make inspection processes at the terminal gate more efficient.

Furthermore, the CML is developing an AI-based concept for digitalising and optimising tank container washing systems, which are currently controlled manually for the most part and require large amounts of water and chemical additives to clean stubborn contamination in the tanks.

Use Cases
Cooperation partner
Further information

© gyn9037/Shutterstock.com / Fraunhofer CML

Click here to read the brochure of the COOKIE project.

You find that interesting? We do too

You find innovative technologies just as exciting as we do? Then become part of our homePORT community and connect with companies, startups and port stakeholders.

COntainerdienstleistungen Optimiert durch Künstliche IntelligEnz

COOKIE

Künstliche Intelligenz ist im Jahr 2021 keine Science-Fiction mehr, sondern längst Realität. Vom Autopiloten bis zur KI, welche einen Nutzer genau simuliert, um gezieltes Marketing zu betreiben, gibt es verschiedenste Anwendungen, die sich dieser Technologie erfolgreich bedienen und Mehrwert liefern.

Durch den Einsatz von KI möchte man im Projekt COOKIE verschiedene Anwendungen evaluieren. Einerseits soll eine bildbasierte Schadenserkennung an Leercontainern die Inspektion erleichtern. Aktuell wird die Leercontainerinspektion durch einen manuellen Prozess mittels visuelle Betrachtung und abklopfen der Container vollzogen, um Mängel bspw. an den Containerwänden zu ermitteln. Weiterhin erstellt das CML ein KI-basiertes Konzept zur Digitalisierung und Optimierung von Tankcontainer-Waschanlagen, die aktuell größtenteils manuell gesteuert werden und dabei große Mengen Wasser und chemischen Additiven zur Reinigung hartnäckiger Verunreinigungen in den Tanks benötigen. Der Einsatz von KI soll beide dieser Vorgänge signifikant erleichtern.

COOKIE wird durch das Forschungsprogramm IHATEC (Innovative Hafentechnologien) des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur gefördert und ist im November 2019 gestartet. Das voraussichtliche Projektende soll April 2022 sein.

Zusammengefasst

Im COOKIE-Projekt soll mittels Einsatz von KI die Schadenserkennung bei Leercontainerinspektion als auch die Reinigung von Tankcontainer-Waschanlagen optimiert werden

Ziel des Projekts

Im Projekt COOKIE entwickelt und evaluiert ein Forschungsgremium gemeinsam mit Projektpartnern eine Software für die bildbasierte Schadenserkennung in der Leercontainerinspektion basierend auf künstlicher Intelligenz. Hierdurch werden nicht nur geltende Sicherheitsstandards eingehalten, sondern auch Inspektionsvorgänge am Terminalgate effizienter gestaltet.

Weiterhin wird ein KI-basiertes Konzept zur Digitalisierung und Optimierung von Tankcontainer-Waschanlagen erstellt, die aktuell größtenteils manuell gesteuert werden und dabei große Mengen an Wasser und chemischen Additiven zur Reinigung hartnäckiger Verunreinigungen in den Tanks benötigen.

Gegenstand des Projekts
Kooperationspartner
Weitere Informationen

© gyn9037/Shutterstock.com / Fraunhofer CML

Hier findest du den Steckbrief zum COOKIE Projekt

Du findest das spannend? Wir auch

Du findest innovative Technologien genauso spannend wie wir? Dann werde doch Teil unser homePORT-Community und vernetze Dich mit Unternehmen, Startups und Hafenakteuren.