Search, Identification, and Collection of marine Litter with Autonomous Robots

SeaClear

The SeaClear project uses the latest methods in mapping, classification and robotic control to fight plastic in the ocean with unmanned vehicles.

When we talk about sustainability, we often hear about 9 planetary boundaries. One of the best-known boundaries is climate change. This has inevitably gained notoriety in recent decades. However, experts often talk about the fact that there is at least one other plantar boundary: plastic waste in our oceans. 

More and more tons of plastic waste are ending up in the oceans of our world. The consequences of this continuous littering are severe. The SeaClear project is about “cleaning up” coastal regions, some of which are struggling with devastating waste problems.

Funded by the EU Horizon 2020 program

100

Start of the project: January 2020

Estimated end: December 2023

In a nutshell

The use of surface and underwater drones in the fight against plastic waste in the sea

Goal of the project

There are about 26 to 66 million tons of trash in the oceans. More than 80% of this is on the seabed. To date, underwater waste has been collected by divers, and the effort and costs involved are enormous. Autonomous processes have hardly existed up to now. In SeaClear, the project partners are developing a robotic solution that autonomously detects 80% of underwater waste, classifies it and collects 90% of it.

Subject of the project
Cooperation partners
Here you can find the flyer of the SeaClear project
Partners of the SeaClear project

You find that interesting? We do too

You find innovative technologies just as exciting as we do? Then become part of our homePORT community and connect with companies, startups and port stakeholders.

Search, Identification, and Collection of marine Litter with Autonomous Robots

SeaClear

Das Projekt SeaClear nutzt die neuesten Methoden in der Kartierung, -Klassifizierung und Robotersteuerung, um mit unbemannten Fahrzeugen Plastik im Meer den Kampf anzusagen.

Beschäftigt man sich mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit, ist häufig von 9 planetaren Grenzen die Rede. Eine der wohl bekanntesten Grenzen ist der Klimawandel. Dieser hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten unweigerlich an Bekanntheit gewonnen. Experten sprechen häufig aber auch davon, dass es mindestens eine weitere plantare Grenze gibt: den Plastikmüll in unseren Ozeanen.

Zunehmend mehr Tonnen an Plastikmüll landen in den Meeren unserer Welt. Die Folgen der kontinuierlichen Vermüllung sind gravierend. Bei dem Projekt SeaClear geht es um die „Reinigung“ von Küstenregionen, die zum Teil mit verheerenden Müllproblemen zu kämpfen haben.

Gefördert aus Mitteln des EU-Programms Horizon 2020

100

Anfang des Projektes: Januar 2020

Vorraussichtliches Ende: Dezember 2023

Zusammengefasst

Der Einsatz von Über- und Unterwasserdrohnen im Kampf gegen Plastikmüll im Meer

Ziel des Projekts

In den Ozeanen befinden sich etwa 26 bis 66 Millionen Tonnen Müll. Mehr als 90 % davon auf dem Meeresboden. Die Sammlung von Unterwasserabfällen erfolgt bis dato durch Taucher, Aufwand und Kosten sind enorm. Autonome Verfahren gibt es bisher kaum. In SeaClear entwickeln die Projektpartner eine Roboterlösung, die autonom 80% der Unterwasserabfälle erkennen, klassifizieren und 90% dieser einsammeln will

Gegenstand des Projekts
Kooperationspartner

Du findest das spannend? Wir auch

Du findest innovative Technologien genauso spannend wie wir? Dann werde doch Teil unser homePORT-Community und vernetze Dich mit Unternehmen, Startups und Hafenakteuren.